Tagged!


Got the word on Twitter that I have been ‘tagged’ for a blogging meme by Chris Galvin, with the intention of connecting and introducing bloggers to eachother and learning about eachother.  I like these questions, they’re deeper than the usual ‘what’s your favorite color?’ type. Below you’ll find my answers to Chris’s questions and I’m spreading the love by tagging elevenses other bloggers and sucking them into this. You’re welcome. I guess you can come up with your own or reuse what you see here. So herewith: Da Roolz:

1. Post the rules. 2. Tag up to eleven bloggers by posting links to their blogs, and let them know. 3. Create eleven questions for the people you’ve tagged. 4. Answer the questions your tagger posed for you. 5. Have fun!

So first off, I’m going to tag others. This was a lot harder than I expected. There are so many people I wanted to tag that I may have to do a second round of this. Gird your loins!

1.  Anne Michaud

2. Jeffrey Gershom

3. Robin Ashe

4. Sarah McCanless

5. Eleanor

6. Minerva Zimmerman

7. Rafael Piñero

8. Kimberley Denny-Rider

9. Frederick Cross

10. Amber Kallyn

11. KimmieAnn

And here are your questions. I tried to come up with some thought-provoking ones, but not too deeply philosophical:

  1. If they were making a movie about your life, who would you choose to play you?
  2. If you could be given another talent or ability, what would you want it to be?  Have you ever – really – tried to perfect this ability in yourself?
  3. If you could take one trip back in time, when and where would you go?
  4. Do you have a favorite movie that you can watch over and over?
  5. If you could choose to stay a certain age forever, what age would it be?
  6. What is one of your favorite quotes?
  7. If you could be any fictional character, who would you be?
  8. What sound do you love?
  9. What superpower would you like to have?
  10. Do you have a favorite artist? Who?
  11. Have you ever wanted to invent something to make your life easier? What?

And here are my answers to the questions Chris posed:

1. When did you start your blog?

Err… about six years ago.

2. Do you blog often, or is it difficult to find the time and inspiration?

I’m erratic. There have been days when I do 3 posts in a day, but then can go for two weeks without a new post.

3. What’s your favourite snack food?

Chocolate. You mean there are others???

4. What is one really strange thing that you would like to do or try?

I’d like to train as a Roman Legionary.

5. Do you edit while you write, or write first, edit later?

Usually I just write and edit later. I need to get the ideas down before I lose them.

6. If you could change one major thing about yourself, what would it be?

I wish I was smarter.

7. What’s the next book on your To Be Read list?

The Eagle of the Ninth, by Rosemary Sutcliff

8. What are you reading  now?

The Celtic Empire, by Peter Berresford Ellis

9. If you start a book and you don’t care for it right away, how many pages do you give it before you stop reading?

Somewhere around 50 pages seems like enough to know if it’s worth finishing or not.

10. What is your favourite time of day and why?

Early morning. It’s quiet and still, I can almost pretend I’m in my own private universe.

(Since calling attention to this, Chris added question 11. That’ll teach me)

11. Do you have a favourite style or genre of literature?

Science fiction. The more science-y, the better. I wish I could write it, but not being a scientist myself makes it pretty near impossible.

That’s it (I checked, Chris only had 10 questions listed). I hope the folks I’ve tagged will have the time and energy to participate. And please come back and leave a comment when you’ve got your post up so we can all scurry over and read it.

19 comments

  1. Oops. Only ten questions… I was in the midst of a really long week. Either that or the final question time-travelled. :D

    I’m a morning person too. Love the stillness and wish I could freeze time in the early hours. Chocolate, yes. So glad you listed Minerva amongst your eleven. I’d intended to include her in mine. Another idea that slipped into the temporal interstices.

  2. Doh! I should have kept my mouth shut! :)

    I’ve always been a morning person, it’s just how I’m wired. Of course that doesn’t work very well for someone who likes astronomy. My poor telescope doesn’t get out much.

    1. You just have to search for early-morning constellations instead. Also, it’s lovely when Venus and the setting moon share the sky.

      Bravo for naming only one genre as favourite. I love Science Fiction, but also so many others…

  3. Another early bird here! I love getting up wicked early when the whole rest of the world seems to be asleep. It’s so peaceful.

    And I love your answer about the Roman Legionary. That’s cool!

  4. I’m sure it was no surprise, with all my obsessing over “The Eagle” for the last month! :D Something in me gravitates to military lifestyles. Or maybe it’s just the idea of being able to defend myself in dangerous situations. I don’t like feeling helpless.

  5. HI DD, congrats on being Tagged. I have a question for you….what started you off blogging meaning in better words I guess how did you came to it? Okay two questions…may I have the link of your first blog post? I would be interesting in reading it if you don’t mind.

  6. Hi Lora,
    All my life I’ve kept diaries or journals, and initially started the blog as a way of recording thoughts and events without having to take my journal to work. It’s accessible from anywhere where I can get to the net. When I started, the idea was it was going to be for family and close friends, but since none of my family are the computer addict I am, they don’t read it! :) So the focus changed to more general stuff. I started off on LiveJournal years ago, and although that one is probably still there, I doubt I could remember my login & p/w for it, so here’s a link to the first WordPress blog entry I made over at my other blog, The Wandering Mind. http://wp.me/ph0Vf-l

    That one morphed into my bicycling-centered blog, and so Filling Spaces arose to focus on writing and related topics. That post is here: http://wp.me/phpuy-1 It’s not much of a post, but it explains the name. :)

  7. I don’t think you need to be a scientist to write science fiction. Sometimes too much knowledge gets in the way of making stuff up. And I love early morning, too… when I can get out of bed. Getting out of bed is hard.

    Thanks for the tag! My blogging day is Fridays, so that’s when I’ll come back and post a link. I hope I’m not slowing down the game :D

  8. Heya Sarah!

    I’m just not sure it’s convincing enough without a certain amount of “hard” facts. I guess I should give it a try before I decide I can’t, eh? ;)

    Anytime you get to it, there’s no time limit. And I think early morning can be enjoyed from one’s bed, nothing says we have to be out jogging to enjoy it ;)

  9. Yay! :) Yeah, I had some hesitation about some of the folks I tagged, too. Not everyone wants to do this kind of stuff. So far not a huge response, but there’s no rush. I’ll be right over to see yours.

And then you said...

