NaNoWriMo Encouragement from James R. Strickland and Simon Haynes


Back to io9 we go. Here’s an encouraging interview (interviews?) with two authors who actually published NaNo novels. Best advice if you’re stuck: torture your characters.

And very timely advice for me since I lost a couple days.

Simon Haynes: Easy. Write in 500 word chunks, one per hour. Don’t sit down thinking ‘I have to write 1800 words today to catch up’, just sit and write 500 words. 15, 20, 30 minutes later, take the rest of the hour off. Then do another 500 words.

This year I’m trying to do 4 x 500 word chunks a day, which is three chunks for my word count and one extra for luck. I’m several thousand words ahead of my goal, and I don’t feel like I’ve really sat down and written hard all month.

I will have to try that method. Hit 500 and take a breather. It’s been feeling a little overwhelming, I like breaking things down into manageable chunks. Ok, time to dash off 500.

