And another thing (Kindle vs Book)


So really I can see a use for electronic readers. It would be handy to keep in your purse (or briefcase, or backpack, or whatever) so you always have something to read when you suddenly find yourself in the doctor’s waiting room for going on three hours… or taking your car in for an oil change or pretty much any time you find yourself stuck waiting for something or other, and didn’t plan on it, and now you desperately need something to fill the time besides staring out into space.

But (you knew this was coming), for those of us who love books, we probably all have given books as gifts. How do you wrap electrons? You could go the gift card route I suppose (does Amazon have gift cards?), but those are always kind of a lazy gift. I’ve had two for Barnes & Noble in my wallet since Christmas, I just haven’t gotten over there to use them.

AND… what about lending a book to a friend? Are you going to hand over the reader? Not likely.

7 thoughts on “And another thing (Kindle vs Book)

  1. I think that in lieu of loaning each other books, amazon wants us to either tell the friend “this is a good book, you should get it on YOUR Kindle,” or, as you said, we should all give each other amazon/kindle gift cards. An amazon gift certificate IS kind of fun – it’s nice to be able to hit “order” without getting a bill – but you’re right, there’s nothing like wrapping up an obscure little book that your loved one might not have though to purchase. Long live books!

    Like

  2. I’ve never been a big fan of gift cards to begin with. I like unwrapping presents that friends and family actually picked out with me in mind, even if it isn’t something I would choose to buy for myself. On a semi-unrelated note, I just read an article about Nintendo releasing its own version of the reader, though it will only offer the classics and comic books to begin with.

    Like

  3. I think you’re exactly right, I’m sure Amazon would LOVE for that to be the scenario. Amazon is a great resource for all kinds of things, but I object to them trying to rule the market, the same way I object to Microsoft’s virtual monopoly on software (and run Firefox and Thunderbird at home).

    Like

  4. Hi Sam,

    Interesting, Amazon is getting some competition. Well, I’m sure that’s all to the consumers’ good. Now we’ll have to wait and see what the publishing industry does, if it’s going to end up being like Nintendo vs. Playstation, where certain games are only available for one game system or the other, will publishers pick one electronic reader over another? Hard copies are looking like the winner here.

    Like

  5. Hiya Astro Sis,

    I’m sure I won’t be buying a Kindle any time soon, so the paperbacks will be with me as well. I just can’t imagine toting something around that contains my entire library, and risk losing it. And now that I think about it, I would guess that they’re not going to be coming up with any way for the individual to back-up their own device at home. As I understand it, they will keep a record of what you have, and if you have to re-download it you’ll be able to, but it seems like they want to prevent you from having your own back-up (dare I say, copies?). The whole thing is just too dicey a prospect for me at the moment.

    Like

Comments are closed.