For those about to be rejected, we salute you


Spending time visiting writers’ blogs as I do, I read many accounts of rejections and the struggle to finally reach nirvana (aka, publication). The saving of rejection letters has taken on ritualistic importance for many, who admit to having shoeboxes full of them in the closet. So this morning, in a variation on a theme, I ran across a writer’s blog who says no, she does not in fact save rejection letters. I can understand this after her description of a particularly brutal one she received. Happily, Meg Gardiner is now a published author, and has recounted some of her struggle on her blog. Really, go read this, it will make you feel better. That much viciousness makes a form rejection seems downright friendly.

I also discovered that Janet Evanovich, author of the Stephanie Plum mysteries, has kindly put up some helpful hints on her site for finding an agent and getting published.

These two ladies certainly stand in glorious technicolor contrast to another blogger I talked about awhile back who was actively discouraging others from trying to get published.

Take heart my friends:

Don’t be dismayed by the opinions of editors, or critics. They are only the traffic cops of the arts.
– Gene Fowler

I just had to add this:
gladiator_l1

Yeah, baby. Bring on those lions.

12 thoughts on “For those about to be rejected, we salute you

  1. Thanks for the link! Rejection is such a painful topic for writers, and one we all have to deal with. Fortunately, it only takes one acceptance letter to help you forget all those nasty rejections.

    Here’s the link to that Stephenie Meyer page you wanted:

    http://stepheniemeyer.com/webmaster.html

    Like

  2. Thanks, Sam. That is possibly the snottiest page I’ve ever seen by a quasi-celeb. The part about “if you’ve read this far you must have a lot of time on your hands…” damn near made me gag. Apparently we don’t all read as slowly as she does.

    Like

  3. No joke. Fortunately, however, her fame will wane. She’s not writing any more Twilight books, and I doubt any other efforts will win her any fans. Hence, no fan mail. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hey Dame,

    Hang onto those rejection letters. They’re proof if the IRS ever knocks on your door for an audit. Every writer out there actively pursuring publication should be saving all their writing expense receipts. If you attend conferences, etc. those fees can really add up.

    I’m gonna go check out this Stephenie-chick. I don’t know why I’m impelled to witness another’s vitriolic ranting, but it’s like a train wreck…so hard to look away.

    Lis’Anne

    Like

  5. Dame, I must have missed something. That whole front page was about her brother and his web design. I guess it was a sign I really need to work on avoiding train wrecks! Glad I missed that one. 😉

    Lis’Anne

    Like

  6. Hi Lis’Anne,

    It’s the second paragraph where he states “There is currently no way for fans to get in contact with her. Stephenie is still much too busy to re-open her fan email or snail mail addresses. Also, I cannot forward emails.”

    Then in the fourth paragraph is the comment about “If you have read this far, it probably means that you have plenty of spare time”.

    To me it says the fans are not important to her, she’s far too lofty and busy to be bothered with the little people. Even Jo Rowling has ways of contacting her available. It would be easy enough for them to at least put up a Guest Book on the site for fans to leave messages, something. I just think it’s extremely bad manners to be so completely dismissive of her fans, regardless of what I may think of her books and writing ability.

    Like

  7. I wasn’t reading between the lines. The whole thing left me rather confused as to how any of that opening page was relevant to a reader looking for an author’s books. I can definitely see what NOT to do with my opening page and how important accessibility is to readers. Thank you!

    Like

  8. DD, thanks for the link to Meg Gardiner’s blog–the over-caffeinated post definitely started my morning! (oh.. that was started two coffees ago…eek). I’ve bookmarked it. And the Janet Evanovich hints are great. 🙂

    As for the Stephenie Myers page, I was intrigued to read her ‘webmaster’s’ discourse on css styling! How refreshing, how unique! What complete and utter bullshit…. You wouldn’t expect an author to read and/or reply to every email, but a way to contact them and say ‘thanks’ isn’t too much to expect from them.

    An author’s website and forum I like is Sue Grafton’s: http://www.suegrafton.com. It’s warm, welcoming and has recipes. What more could you ask for?

    Like

  9. Hiya JG,

    Glad you enjoyed all that 🙂 I need to check out Meg Gardiner’s books, her blog is so entertaining.

    Meyer just baffles me by basically refusing to even accept fan mail. No one expects authors (or any celebrity) to respond to every e-mail they get, but people (and teen girls in particular) tend to like to gush over their idol du jour. You’d think she’d want all she could get of that.

    I’ve seen Grafton’s site, and her husband’s ode to a kitty they had to euthanize a few years ago. I couldn’t read it all, I started tearing up thinking about one of mine that I lost in similar fashion! She doesn’t accept e-mail either, but does have a contact address if you want to write.

    Like

Comments are closed.