Mood Music


I’ve been listening to a program called “The Score” on my local classical music station, KQAC. Every week the program host focuses either on a particular composer, or movie director, or theme. This week it was the composer Hans Zimmer, who composed the music for both The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons. Good stuff. I may have to buy the soundtracks for these movies, even if I don’t ever get around to watching the flicks themselves. I’ve never seen either movie, but the music is really intense.

The station streams over the Web, you can tune in at All Classical.org. This particular program runs every Saturday from 4:00-5:00PM (Pacific Time). It’s really fun, and Edmund Stone is a very entertaining, often hilarious host.

The program is part of their “On Demand” line-up, so if you want to hear it anytime over the next two weeks (I think it’s two weeks) you can go to the Web site, click on “Listen Now” then the “On Demand” button, and select “The Score with Edmund Stone”. (don’t try it if you’re on dial-up, as I am. I have to catch it the first time around over the air) They are listener-supported so you won’t have to put up with commercials.

If you like what you hear, you can pull up playlists, and there should be a “Buy Now” button that will link to ArkivMusic. If you buy through them the station gets a percentage of the sale.

Enjoy the music!

15 thoughts on “Mood Music

  1. I love listening to soundtracks while I write. Romantic music for the love scenes in my stories. Pulse-pounding music for action or the more intense dramatic scenes.

    The score for the Da Vinci Code is one of my favorites. I haven’t heard the one from Angel and Demons yet. Our local library has CDs available for check-out and that’s how I get a lot of my soundtrack music.

    Thansk for the heads up about that station. I’m going to bookmark it!

    Like

  2. Oh yay! I love to spread the word for this station, esp. since they’re not part of PBS and don’t get any of that money (although I do think they get some money from the National Endowment for the Arts). Edmund also hosts the listener request program on Sunday afternoons, and you can email in a request for a piece you’d like to hear. If you get your request played you get entered in a drawing for (I think it’s) a CD each week. He’s played requests for people as far away as Japan and Israel. The “Club Mod” program is really interesting, all modern compositions. Some of those have been great mood-setters as well, and I’m not much of a modern symphonic fan.

    Anyway, I love hearing these soundtracks separate from the films. Most of the time during movies I don’t really pay close attention to the music, and there’s some really great stuff being composed for movies. We tend to write it off as “background music” when it’s really so much more.

    Like

  3. Hey D D,

    I don’t often listen to music when I write. Usually, I prefer either complete silence, or to watch television at the same time. (go figure)

    But when I am in the mood for music with my writing, I like classical and soundtracks. For this WIP, I found, “The Hours” soundtrack, Rachmaninoff, Vivaldi, Chopin, and Beethoven fitting.

    Like

  4. Hiya Astro Sis,

    Normally I would say the same thing. Even classical can sometimes be too distracting for me, I get too caught up in listening to the music. However, for some reason when I was listening to that program the other day it was really clicking for me (keys were clicking furiously as well!). I should probably note that I’ve been on a detour, working on a vampire story, and the soundtracks for Angels and Demons and Da Vinci Code were just the thing at that particular time!

    I generally can’t listen to anything with vocals, either, but I just picked up H.I.M.’s “Dark Light” and can’t stop listening to it! 😉

    BTW, who are the hot bands in Europe right now? Just curious.

    Like

  5. LOL ok, I thought it might be like over here where entertainment IS the news most of the time, and you hear about stuff even if you don’t want to! 🙂

    Like

  6. “you hear about stuff even if you don’t want to”

    You’re just still honked off b/c you had to go on Google to find out who Phish was…
    😉

    Like

  7. Hell, I wouldn’t know their music if I heard it – I’m only familiar with ’em b/c a paralegal where I used to work was a little obsessed with them. Apparently they are sort of the 21st century’s answer to the Grateful Dead – their fans tend to be crunchy little tie-dye-and-Birkenstock-wearing neo-hippies.

    Like

  8. My only acquaintance w/metal comes from the Uncensored Metal channel on digital TV. Are you guys familiar with “This Toilet Earth”? I’m not sure if that’s the name of the band, the song, or the CD, but I saw it at the bottom of the screen once. Often when I go out I leave the Metal channel or the Uncensored Rap channel on – I figure that’s more likely to scare off potential burglars than the stations I prefer (classical or show tunes.)

    Like

  9. Interesting home security system 🙂 I don’t know what “This Toilet Earth” might be, I don’t know of any bands by that name but that doesn’t necessarily mean anything. I miss those music channels on cable more than regular programming.

    Like

  10. Oooooo, the soundtrack for Angels and Demons arrived in the mail today. Wow, this is awesome and I don’t use that word lightly. I seriously hope Hans Zimmer gets at least an Oscar nom for it. Since I haven’t seen the movie, I’m assuming this includes all the music used in the film.

    Like

Comments are closed.