2008 Bram Stoker Awards


cloister_cemetery

 

So, staying with my recent creepy theme of vampires and whatnot, here is the list of the Bram Stoker award winners for 2008 which I just found over at Locus Magazine’s Web site:

Novel: Duma Key, Stephen King (Scribner)

First Novel: The Gentling Box, Lisa Mannetti (Dark Hart)

Long Fiction: Miranda, John R. Little (Bad Moon)

Short Fiction: The Lost, Sarah Langan (Cemetery Dance)

Fiction Collection: Just After Sunset, Stephen King (Scribner)

Anthology: Unspeakable Horror, Vince A. Liaguno & Chad Helder, eds. (Dark Scribe)

Non-Fiction: A Hallowe’en Anthology, Lisa Morton, ed. (McFarland)

Poetry: The Nightmare Collection, Bruce Boston (Dark Regions)

Other awards presented at the ceremony include the annual Lifetime Achievement Awards for F. Paul Wilson and Chelsea Quinn Yarbro; The Specialty Press Award for Larry Roberts of Bloodletting Press; The Silver Hammer Award, for outstanding service to HWA, for Sephera Giron; and the President’s Richard Laymon Service Award for John R. Little.

For more: www.stokers2009.

If you’ve ever wondered what some of these authors look like, check out the Web site. There’s a photo of Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, among many others. I haven’t actually read any of them, but I am intrigued now, especially by the title of the Anthology winner, Unspeakable Horror. It was what I’d call the defining statement in Anne Rice’s short story, The Master of Rampling Gate.  Which frankly turned out not to be so horrible in the end. Maybe I don’t scare easily anymore. I sure used to, I could have nightmares for years after watching a Vincent Price movie. I miss Vincent Price, he was a gentleman and a scholar.

I also just ordered a book of ghost stories by Edith Wharton. She was reportedly so afraid of ghosts for awhile she even refused to sleep in a room that had a book of ghost stories in it. I can hardly wait to dig into her book!

17 thoughts on “2008 Bram Stoker Awards

  1. Hi Joseph,

    Yes, it was a surprise to me as well when I ran across it. I’ve got it on order from the Evil Empire (aka Amazon), but it won’t be shipping until sometime in mid-July (they had used copies available, but the edition I ordered from Virago Press takes 2-4 weeks before it ships). All the reviews are glowing, I’m very eager to get it. I love her writing. I’ll post a review when I get done with it.

    Like

  2. Glad to see Chelsa Quinn Yarbo received a lifetime achievement award. I’m just starting her Saint-Germain vampire novels series and I’m enjoying the first book, Hotel Transylvania, very much.

    Like

  3. Hi Jenna,

    You’ll have to give me your overall impression when you finish. I’ve been vacillating about trying her books. Interesting that she and Anne Rice published their first vampire novels two years apart (1978 and 1976 respectively). I wonder what the catalyst for all the vampirism was in the 70s? 🙂

    Like

    1. I’ll definitely let you know. I’m curious to see how this first book will differ from her latest Saint Germain book. That’s a 30 year gap! Amazing career this woman has had.

      Like

  4. Hey DD,

    First, I love that painting by Friedrich!

    I’ve read one of Edith’s ghost stories. I can’t remember the title, but I did enjoy it.

    In one of my true tale ghost books there is a chapter on her. She was so afraid of ghosts when she was a child that she’d throw away any such books she found in her father’s study.

    Like

    1. Hiya Tasha,

      I love that painting, too. I wasn’t sure whether to use the b&w or a color copy of it, but the b&w seems more in keeping with my overall theme here 😉 He really liked that motif of cemeteries and ruined buildings, fascinating stuff.

      It’s funny how obsessed, yet dismissive they were of ghosts and the supernatural back in Wharton’s time. The spiritualist movement was huge, which lead to lots of psychic scams and such, and yet they couldn’t seem to get enough of it.

      Like

    1. Was that only when she was a child? What I read gave me the impression she still feared ghosts as an adult. On a conscious level she didn’t accept the idea of them, but it was more on a subconscious level that she had some kind of primal fear of them, or maybe the supernatural in general?

      Like

  5. Oh, I\’ve found it (Ghost Stories of Edith Wharton). It\’s in the Wordsworth Mystery & Supernatural series. They\’ve reprinted quite a lot of excellent but obscure stories recently. I think I could probably pick up a copy locally but I\’m still looking forward to your review.

    Like

    1. Oh excellent, Joseph! It would be a shame for any of her writing to be out of print and unavailable. I just have to bide my time until I get my copy. 🙂 My reading list is about 12 miles long as it is so I’m sure I’ll have lots to keep me busy until I can dig into that!

      Like

  6. Hey DD,

    The catalyst of the vamp books in the seventies may have been, “Dark Shadows”. DS had a storyline in parallel time when Barnabas is forced to tell his tale to someone writing a book on the paranormal. In “Interview”, Rice has a reporter coerce Louis to tell his story. I think Rice confirmed DS’s storyline was an inspiration, but I’m not positive.

    Glad you chose the b&w painting. If you go to youtube and search his name, there are some beautiful videos set to Friedrich’s paintings.

    Regarding Wharton, the book (it only has a short chapter on her) doesn’t really say how she got over her fear. But here’s an interesting bit: “Later in life Edith characterized herself as a ‘ghost feeler’……Edith could enter a room and sense the presence of dead people as definitively as our nerve endings register heat or cold…”- from “Ghosts of Boston Town”.

    *Her* ghost now stalks her old home. Only fitting, of course.

    Like

    1. Wow, that is too cool about Edith!

      And of course, Dark Shadows! Wow, was I ever hooked on that show. Painful to watch now, some of the acting is just dreadful, but I lived and breathed that show when I was a kid! I had a serious crush on Quentin, the werewolf 🙂

      Like

    1. She was an amazing woman. I wonder what she would have been like if she had lived now, in an era more favorable to women, than the repressive society she grew up in. What she was able to accomplish then was astonishing for a woman.

      Like

  7. I love DS. (discovered it when Sci-fi channel ran the reruns). For me, the over-the-top stage acting and props falling over is all part of its charm. I’m hoping one day to buy the series on DVD.

    Never really got the Quentin appeal. If I had to pick a guy from the show, I’d go with Burke.

    Like

  8. Wow, I don’t remember Burke. But I can still hum that little tune Charity would sing when she’d weird out and get possessed by her alter ego or whatever it was (can you tell I haven’t seen it in awhile?)

    Like

Comments are closed.