Johnny Depp + Tim Burton = Dark Shadows


Did you know about this? I just found this over at imdb.com:

MTV News had a chance to speak with Sam Sarkar, director of development for Johnny Depp’s production company, who revealed that a big screen adaptation of “Dark Shadows” is “very active,” adding that the studio will be making some announcements very soon.

The Warner Bros film will star Depp as vampire Barnabas Collins and will likely be directed by Tim Burton.

It’s part of an article from Worst Previews.com. Ok, I’m a little slow out of the starting gate, the article is from March. But all this vampire stuff is a new interest so I haven’t really been following the vampire industry until the last couple of weeks. But DAY-UM, I’m excited about this one.

8 thoughts on “Johnny Depp + Tim Burton = Dark Shadows

  1. Isn’t it great? You have no dearth of vamp stuff to talk about here. 😉

    I’ve been looking forward to this film for awhile now. Heh, it would be great if they had a prop or two fall in the background to pay homage to the show.

    I’m very curious to see who they cast as Julia.

    Like

  2. Ha! I’m probably the last person to hear about it. Oh well, better late than never. I’m just having so much fun with all this vamp stuff. And it’s official, I’m dreaming about vamps and my story now! 🙂

    All of the casting will be very interesting. It’s probably a good thing I haven’t seen it in so long so I won’t draw too many comparisons. I actually watched it the first time around in the 60s and 70s, used to race home from school because it was on at 4:30 in the afternoon.

    That would be funny if they did something with falling props or having someone flub their lines, but really I hope they don’t go for an overtly humorous treatment.

    Like

  3. You can never be the last person to hear about vampire movies when I am around. I didn’t even know what Dark Shadows was but, thankfully for the unenlightened, there are always things like IMDB and almighty Google to the rescue.

    How is your own vampire story going? Are you finding it easy to work on the two books in parallel now or still focusing more on the vampire story? Either way, hope it is fun whichever one you are writing.

    Like

  4. Hi Venus,

    Welcome to the cult of Dark Shadows 😉 It was quite the phenomenon at the time, I believe it ran longer than the original Star Trek! I must have come in late on it, I would have been too young to have seen it when the first couple of seasons aired. It was really low-budget, they never had time or money to do retakes so in a way it was almost like live theater.

    I’m still cranking on the vampire story. I think I have to admit to myself at this point it’s a full-blown, bona fide obsession! 🙂 But it’s fun. I have to keep reminding myself I’m not in the city where it mostly takes place. I’ve been doing so much research on the area I’m starting to feel like I’m there LOL It’s like being immersed in a book that you just can’t put it down, it seems quite real to me when I think about it. Have I gone ’round the bend, as they say? Quite possibly 😉

    Like

    1. D D, That is wonderful! It’s the best thing when a story takes hold of you so completely that it is as if you are transported inside them. I love reading books that do that to me and in tracing back the writer’s experience in writing those books I have always found that they were completely immersed in the subject. It is how you create the most real, vivid stories so I am very excited for you.

      Some of the world’s best creations were works of madness so celebrate your going around the bend. 🙂

      Like

  5. Don’t feel bad, DD. I hadn’t heard about it either. But Johnny Depp as a vampire? I’m there! 😀

    Like

  6. Oh good, there’s three of us then! I hope they’re still going ahead with it, I don’t know of any more recent news than what I found the other day. collinwood.net had an entry back on April 15 suggesting a winter 2010 release for it.

    Like

Comments are closed.