Daybreakers


Ok  all you vampy-loving people: A new vampire movie is on the horizon. Ethan Hawke’s Daybreakers is slated for a January 2010 release.

In this one, set in the not-too-distant future of 2019, a plague of some kind has turned most of humanity into vampires, and the surviving humans are being kept alive like cattle as a food source. However, drama ensues when the ruling vampires discover there’s only enough blood left for one month. That’s not a whole lotta time to find an alternative. It  looks dark, edgy, and one of my fave actors, Sam Neill, appears to be some head honcho of the vampires. Willem Dafoe wields a crossbow.

Looks like the vampire genre is still going strong, it’ll be interesting to see how this does at the box office.

So my question would be: How many humans does it take to sustain one vampire? If the world goes 95% vamp, that doesn’t seem like enough humans to keep them going. I know, I know, what’s the point of trying to inject logic into a vampire milieu? This movie seems to be trying to play up vampirism as a curable disease, which kind of does beg the question then. The ratio of humans to vamps seems a little backwards to me. Oh well. What do I know?

15 thoughts on “Daybreakers

  1. The trailer looks fun. Hopefully the plot has substance. I’d probably check it out.

    btw, have you ever seen, Mark of the Vampire? I just remembered that one. It’s an enjoyable flick with Lugosi, Lionel Barrymore, and Elizabeth Allen.

    Like

  2. It’s possible I’ve seen Mark of the Vampire, I used to watch all those old movies on Saturday mornings when I was a kid. There was a show called “Chiller Theater” on one of the stations (the opening credits showed an early claymation hand with 6 or 7 fingers rising out of a pool or puddle on the ground) that showed all those old scary movies. I’m sure I don’t remember half of them!

    Like

  3. Can vamps live on that synthetic substance they give hemophiliacs? How about just plasma? The capitalist in me sez there just be a profit 2B made here, for somebody – and after all, capitalists are the biggest bloodsuckers of all…

    I remember “Chiller Theater” and that hand – it was so cheesey, but at the time it seemed scarier than half the movies out now. Have you ever seen “The Tingler” with Vincent Price?

    Like

  4. OOoo, I might have missed The Tingler, but if Vincent is in it I’ll have to find it.

    LOL Bloodsuckers R Us. I don’t know what the deal is in Daybreakers, there’s talk in the trailer of a synthetic blood substitute, and Sam Neill’s character says there are always those who will pay extra for the real thing… Clearly a Wall St. exec.

    Like

    1. I like “The House on Haunted Hill,” too – the original, with vincent. Cheesey, and yet somehow truly creepy.

      Like

      1. I remember that one! Wow, did that scare me when I was a kid. After that I could never watch scary movies without having my back up against something. If I felt airspace behind me I just KNEW something was going to sneak up behind and grab me 😉

        Like

      2. I don’t think that one was ever remade, was it? There was that awful 1999 “The Haunting” with Catherine Zeta-Jones and Owen Wilson (et al), but that was a remake of a 1963 flick of the same name, “The Haunting” which was TRULY terrifying. There was the 1973 “The Legend of Hell House” which starred Roddy McDowell, but I don’t think that was the same storyline.

        Like

      3. Oh you’re right! I never saw it, but the cast even included James Marsters (Spike, of BTVS/Angel fame)! So we have our vampire connection 🙂 Tenuous, perhaps, but in my twisted brain it works.

        Like

  5. I must say that when it started with “Imagine a world” .. that is not what I imagined. I had John Lennon singing in my head the whole time I watched the trailer. Awesome.

    The trailer looks promising. Apparently world hunger problem isn’t limited to food. That would teach all the zombies, bots from outer space and vampires trying to take over our little planet all the time!

    House On The Haunted Hill, the original, is probably one of the few movies I have seen that scared me. I think they had a made-for-TV-remake or something because I remember seeing one with a newer cast and B-grade actors. Not very good.

    Like

    1. Yes, there was a remake, which I somehow missed the first time I was checking on IMDB.com. What a shame it turned out poorly, Geoffrey Rush is usually quite good.

      Like

  6. Hehehe! Yeah somehow I don’t think that’s what John Lennon had in mind either 😉

    The trailer does look promising, definitely no warm and fuzzy (or sparkly) vamps in this one. I gotta say though, the more I think about that bizarre version of a soda fountain (the female vampire behind the bar looked like a throwback to a 1950s diner) with all the bags of different blood types labeled A, B, O+ and so on, that bit was almost comedic. I can just see it: “Bartender, another round of AB- for everyone!” 😉

    Like

  7. Yah, it makes you wonder: would the different blood types taste different? Would there be “blood snobs” who only like the rare types? (oh geez, I’m O neg ; they’d never leave me alone!) “I’ll have a Blood Light” for the chubby vampires? The mind reels.

    Like

  8. LOL Oh yeah, I can see them standing around discussing the bouquet, vintage, the subtle notes of “carnivore” vs. “vegetarian”, high iron content, etc. What would be the best blood regions (humans in more developed areas having access to better diets and therefore producing a more robust product?). I’m A+, we’re like Budweiser, we’re everywhere. 😉

    I just had to add: Suddenly the term “Mediterranean Diet” takes on a whole new meaning…

    Like

Comments are closed.