More Misappropriation of Classics


So far we’ve had Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, which is going to be followed by Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, and now we have (wait for it…)

Pinocchio, Vampire Slayer!

I dunno, this thing seems to be taking itself WAAAAY too seriously, it’s described as action/horror.

The next trailer shown was for “Pinnochio the Vampire Slayer” by Dylan Higgins, a black-and-white action/horror comic book starring a character whose slogan is “I’m Pinnochio, I kill vampires.” In this twist on the classic story, Gepetto is killed before Pinnochio can become a real boy, and thus the he instead begins a journey of revenge against all vampires. His weapon of choice is his ever-growing nose, which he breaks off to utilize as a stake to kill vampires. Vado said the buzz for the book is greater than anything he has published before, and he is truly excited for it.

 

I was laughing by the end of the little promo video. Of course a couple of snarky comments on io9 a few weeks ago about it didn’t help:

Terrified vampire: “Are you here to kill me?”

Pinocchio: “No.”

SPROING!

Stabbity.

Sorry, I’m still laughing.

And we’re still waiting for Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by the same author who started this whole thing, Seth Grahame-Smith. I don’t know who he’s plagiarizing for this one, but he apparently received an advance to the tune of $575,000. They’re even talking about a movie. As long as it’s billed as a comedy,  fine. The whole concept is so patently ridiculous I hope no one is looking at this as anything other than slapstick. (is that kind of a pun?)

4 thoughts on “More Misappropriation of Classics

  1. I can’t think of any kind of similar phenomenon in publishing history where the hot thing was to twist well-known works into some other genre. Has this ever happened before? I know there have been endless updates of classics (Shakespeare in particular) but apart from that, is this a new trend we’re seeing, or just a blip?

    Like

  2. It is an odd phenomenon. I always feel peculiar when a writer uses someone else’s characters, regardless if I liked the end project or not. For instance, I loved, “The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen”. Very well-written and clever. But I always wonder how the original authors feel about their characters being used.

    And all this Vamp and Zombie stuff. Maybe Jane Austen loves it and is having a huge laugh about it. But none of these authors who are having their stuff used are able to voice their consent or dissent.

    Like

  3. I’m still not clear on why this stuff has escaped the label of being ‘fan fiction.’ Granted it’s out of copyright so no one can stop him, but using someone else’s work (and P&P&Z admits to being 80% Austen’s writing) on this scale really irritates me.

    Like

Comments are closed.