Sci-Fi Writers in their Natural Habitats


I just ran across this gem at io9. It’s a collection of twenty photos of science fiction authors and the spaces they work in, and many of their four-legged companions. The photos include Fredrick Pohl, Samuel R. Delany (in what appears to be a claustrophobia-inducing closet lined with books, viewed from above with a fish-eye lens), Margaret Weis in an unforgivably beautiful, spacious house, Joe Haldeman writing by the light of oil lamps, by hand with a fountain pen. The project isn’t finished, and will yet include photos of Neil Gaiman’s writing space, and Lois McMaster Bujold. The whole thing is being compiled as a book:

Where I Write will be featured as eight pages in the 2009 Worldcon program guide. A much larger collection is being compiled into a book featuring Neil Gaiman, Lois McMaster Bujold, and many others along with interviews about their spaces.

You can visit the photographer’s project site at Where I Write. Since I haven’t got his permission to post any of the photos here I won’t.

Tangentially, Chris Baty of NaNoWriMo sent out the first e-mail of the season inviting NaNo participants to upload photos to the NaNo site of their own work spaces. I haven’t yet, but I probably will. First I have to put away the laundry basket…

4 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Writers in their Natural Habitats

  1. Very interesting. Yeah, isn’t Weis’s house just amazing! And Samuel Delaney! Wow! Thanks for the link!

    Like

  2. Glad you enjoyed it, I always love to see other writers’ workspaces. And all the planes in Ben Bova’s room, clearly an aviation aficianado.

    If you look around the photographer’s site he has several photos of himself and Neil Gaiman, along with Amanda Palmer of the Dresden Dolls. What I wouldn’t give to have people like that to hang out with.

    Wasn’t Delany’s cubbyhole something?? Wow, it looks like he barely has room to turn around!

    Like

  3. Hiya Tasha,

    I know, I just keep going back and looking at all those wonderful rooms piled to their ceilings with books! Heaven! 🙂 I can hardly wait for Kyle Cassidy’s book to come out.

    Like

Comments are closed.