50K!


I broke 50,000 (50,056, to be exact) words on the vampire novel last night! I hit it around 9:00 p.m., clocking in with 1500 words yesterday alone. I was too close to not make it, I would have stayed up to midnight to hit if I’d had to. I can’t believe how good this feels. And yes, lots of it will be revised out later but even stuff that comes out leads to other plot twists that will probably stay in. I’ve never been one for doing pages of character sketches ahead of time, so as the characters grow and change as I write they will dictate more strongly where to take the story.

Oh, and if anyone is looking for a web host, keep checking Bluehost.com’s page. Twice over the last few days (and as I write this) I’ve seen them advertising $3.95/month “limited time offer” which is of course a week too late for me. I signed up at the regular rate of $6.95. :::snarl::: Just thought I’d let you know.

16 thoughts on “50K!

    1. I dunno, I think averaging 10K words/month while working full-time and keeping yourself in shape is pretty impressive. Who’s chasing you? 😉

      Like

      1. The Grim Reaper. I ain’t gettin’ any younger!

        Compared to bashing out a 50,000 word “thing” (I wouldn’t even call it a novel) in one month for NaNoWriMo this just seems incredibly slow. It astounds me how many people make that 50k in November. I only got halfway last year and gave up at 26,000 words.

        Like

      2. I love the idea of NanoWriMo, but November is the cruelest month for me – right before final exams – and I know I couldn’t do it justice. I still think your pace is pretty impressive. At this rate you’ll have 120,000 words by next spring – maybe more, b/c you’ll probably spend more time indoors over the winter. How long is the average novel?

        Like

      3. Typically you shoot for 100,000 words, so the 50k is just about the halfway point. I know, November can be brutal. Everyone’s gearing up for the holidays, you lose about a week for Thanksgiving if you travel or even if you don’t and do the big dinner at your own house, and if relatives come to town… I’ve often thought April would be a better month. There are no real big holidays or shutdowns, spring break is over, summer break hasn’t started. Maybe we should lobby Chris Baty to move it 😉

        Like

  1. Either one would work for me, I have nothing special going on during that time frame now that my kids are grown. June might be problematic for anyone with school-age kids. Once they’re out for the summer you can kiss free time goodbye!

    Like

  2. Okay – obviously I am getting to this way late! (I’ve actually been writing instead of reading blogs.) Congratulations! Hurray! Waving pom poms like mad.

    Like

  3. Current draft of SN is done. People are reading it – when they’re done, last round of hopefully small revisions and edits, then I think it will be ready to query. Wasn’t sure if you wanted to read again or not and hesitated to ask since you’re busy writing and everything else? If you want to, I’ll send it along. If not, it’s fine.

    Like

  4. That’s great! I’d be happy to make the time to read it over if you want. Do you feel like you have enough folks already reading it over, enough input? I don’t want to hold things up if you’re close to getting into the final edits.

    Like

Comments are closed.