Murder and the Mosh Pit


UPDATE (3/1/2010): Murder in the Mosh Pit now has its own site at Murder in the Mosh Pit.

Sparked by a discussion between Chazz Byron and MaryJBlog about vampires who sparkle and glam-punk bands, I’ve added a new page, Murder and the Mosh Pit (see above) for anyone who wants to join in on a collaborative murder mystery, surrounding the death of the lead singer, Baby of Shame, late of glam-punk band, The Sparkling Douchebags. Add a chapter, or a paragraph, as you choose and/or have time. Kill off more of this legendary infamous band, we can add more band members as spots open up.

MaryJBlog has given us the jumping-off point with her comment:

I know you are working on some “priority projects,” but I am perfectly willing to donate the title “Murder and the Moshpit,” and fool around with it whenever you blogsters can make time. BTW, the late Baby of Shame’s legal name was Jennifer Klein; she grew up in Westchester County, NY and attended Vassar for a year before dropping out and going on the road with the band that became the Sparkling Douchebags.

So, take it away all you murder mystery types! When you find your creative juices running dry and need something silly to get you back on track, take a stab (pun intended) at our little group project.

16 thoughts on “Murder and the Mosh Pit

  1. gypsyscarlett says:

    OMG. I love this idea of yours. I wish I could participate , but I think (I pray) that I’m finally making some headway with my latest WIP- so I need to keep all my creative energy flowing in that direction. But I know I’ll have a ball reading what everyone else comes up with.

    And MaryJ deserves some award for coming up with that title. It’s too damn funny.

    Like

  2. maryjblog says:

    Thanks Gypsy! We’ll probably be fooling around with this for quite some time, so you can jump in whenever you have a few free minutes. I myself have not yet contributed anything but the title and that tiny character sketch, although I was dreaming last night about the detectives who show up to investigate.

    Like

  3. Digital Dame says:

    I know, that title is da bomb! The name of the band is pure punk, it’s absolutely perfect 😀

    And further to all that, I’m in the process of setting up a new blog and making everyone who wants to play “authors” there. Not entirely sure how it’s going to work, still dinking around with it.

    Like

  4. maryjblog says:

    It was the oddest thing – after I went to bed last night I started thinking about the detectives (I think their names are Meg Urbanowicz and Octavio Lopez,) but I told myself, consciously , don’t do that, it’ll get your mind racing and you won’t get to sleep. I stopped “storytelling” and fell into a deep, comfy sleep, but the whole time I was thinking about Meg and Octavio (nobody dares call him Okkie) at the crime scene. When I woke up, I felt as though I know them personally.

    Like

  5. Digital Dame says:

    Sounds like this story “ran up and bit you on the leg” as Ray Bradbury would say 😉

    ‘My stories run up and bite me in the leg. I respond by writing them down – everything that goes on during the bite. When I finish, the idea lets go and runs off.’

    Ray Bradbury

    Like

  6. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun! I’m swamped with stuff (just got edits back from my editor) and have WIPs that need to be finished, but I’ll keep it in mind if I ever need to just unplug here and there. Great title! 🙂

    Like

  7. Digital Dame says:

    Hi Jenna,

    I’m sure we’ll be at it for awhile 🙂 Just shoot me an e-mail if you decide to join the fray and I’ll add you as an author. I’m going to be at it piecemeal myself, with everything else I’m doing, too. Good luck with your WIPs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

