The Score Goes National


You guys know I like to plug my local classical music station, KQAC, online at All Classical, because I just think they are the most entertaining classical station I’ve ever listened to, and they’re independent, commercial-free, listener supported, and they get no funding from PBS, they are not affiliated in any way.

My favorite program is on Saturday afternoons, called “The Score” hosted by Edmund Stone, one of the many delightful hosts at the station. Edmund created this program, calling on his great knowledge of the film industry and film scores in particular. This program is so well-received it has just been syndicated and is going national! I was so excited when I heard that I ran to the kitchen to make some popcorn while I listened and went online to pledge support! They were having so much fun on the air I just had to join in. Not only is The Score going national, but it’s so popular it’s been expanded to Saturday AND Sunday. According to the newsletter it will air now at 2:00PM Pacific Time on Saturdays, with an earlier episode repeat at 2:00PM on Sundays. The Web site hasn’t been updated yet, but they did mention this on the air this afternoon as well.

Edmund is a genial funny host, and really does answer if you e-mail him with comments or suggestions on the program. He knows so much about the composers and films he makes it so entertaining to listen to. If you miss it live they archive programs online for two weeks so you can pull it up and listen later.

Well, they’re in their spring membership drive this week so naturally I re-upped during The Score this afternoon, and they read my little congratulatory comment on the air, so I got my 15 seconds of fame. Really, I am so thrilled that Edmund’s program has been picked up and will be so widely heard now. If you listen drop him a note and tell him how you like it. His e-mail is on the Web site and he gives it out over the air as well. I think next Saturday is going to be all music from Oscar winning movies, just in time for the Oscars on Sunday. So, pull up a chair, pop some popcorn and enjoy!

Oh, one last thing: Yay Edmund! You RAWK! 🙂

37 thoughts on “The Score Goes National

  1. I have AllClassical bookmarked, and I like to listen to it when WQXR, the generally excellent NYC station is having a hard time getting over itself.

    Since QXR was sold to public radio, they also have an excellent 24-hour-streaming channel, available online, called Q2 – it’s devoted to the more obscure “alternative” classical music. Give it a listen; I’ll bet you’ll like it:

    http://www.wqxr.org/q2/

    Like

  2. You know, that’s one of the things I love about KQAC, they are so down-to-earth, so completely unpretentious. I’ll check out QXR, thanks. I like hearing less well known works. There’s so much music it’s almost a surprise to hear anything more than once.

    Another program I like that KQAC has is Club Mod that focuses on modern composers. One that I heard there that I really like is John Adams.

    Like

    1. You’ll probably find Q2 to be a lot like Club Mod. QXR used to repeat themselves more (classical’s great hits – I mean Vivaldi’s Four Seasons is lovely, but as you say, there’s so much more out there!) when they were a commercial station – last fall they went listener-sponsored and although the reception is not as good, I think the programming is better, and ever since I invested $11 in a little set of speakers for my laptop, I just listen online all the time. Fang’s even thinking of buying one of those tiny laptops for upstairs, and using it in lieu of a radio.

      BTW, this is truly the only blog I have ever seen where we can find out about trash pulp fiction covers, straightedge punk, tatoos, Jane Austen, and alternative classical music. In a fair world, you’d be a millionaire media mogual and we’d be your overpaid staff. Just sayin’.

      Like

      1. LOL, and here I thought I had more targeted subject matter 😉 That’s what I get for thinking. I do try to focus this blog on writing more than anything, but really writing encompasses all facets of life so I guess I should have expected topics here to wander the way they do.

        I bought a really good set of speakers for my computer years ago, and I’ll tell you they rival the big beasts I have hooked up to the stereo in the living room. Now I just have to somehow find the funds to go with broadband or DSL when I want to listen to something streaming over the net. Luckily I have KQAC live over the airwaves so I’m set there but if I miss a program and want to listen to it later, I’m outta luck. I’ll be able to check out your Q2 at work, I think. They’ve loosened our leash on being able to get to “entertainment” sites recently. When I first started with the company I couldn’t even pull up a radio station’s Web site, they were all blocked and we’d get the Red Screaming Screen warning us it was a restricted site and all usage of the internet was logged and monitored. How draconian. Luckily, as I said, I can now get to KQAC’s site so things are better.

        Like

      2. Am I correct in assuming that one of your in-house relatives is paying for cable? You might want to look into those phone-broadband-TV packages; it could possibly be cost-effective if you all split the expense, based on his cable bill and your internet bill. If the service crashes, you still have your cels and the service @ work, and if your cel craps out, you have a super-cheap landline phone as a backup.

        Like

      3. Ah well, there are better & better deals becoming available all the time. I saw a high-speed plan available for $19.99/month this week; I’m just waiting for Verizon to expand their service to our part of the Catskills. Currently the best deal is more than I want to spend for a few days out of the month; if I really want to go online I bring my laptop and camp out for a few hours at The Muddy Cup.

        Like

      4. One of the things I’ve learned from having artists and musicians in my family is that there are a lot of ways to deliver information. Our particular blessing and curse is that we like to transform everything into a verbal narrative, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that this is how the information or inspiration enters our consciousness – hence all these discussions of music, film, natural beauty, and even the odd bit of gossip [that’s actually more prevalent over at my blog, but this is my justification 😉 ]

        Like

  3. DD!

    Your post made me smile because I was going to email you this morning regarding KQAC. Saturday night I was thrilled to catch them airing La Boheme live from the Met. (happy sigh)

    The Score is my favorite program, too.

    And I agree with how wonderfully unpretensious and down-to-earth the hosts are.

    Like

  4. I’m so glad you enjoy the station as much as I do. I had wondered in the past about The Score being syndicated, it’s such a great program I’m only surprised it didn’t happen sooner. Edmund is just a delightful host, I’m so thrilled for him.

    Pat McElroy, who used to host the Live from the Met broadcasts, sadly passed away a couple of weeks ago now. I think Ed Goldberg is taking over that role now. He’s a character, too 🙂 Oh, that reminds me – On April 1 Ed Goldberg and Edmund Stone host a program together called “Two Eds are Better Than One!” It’s becoming something of an institution.

    Like

  5. I emailed Live from the Met acouple of weeks ago, during intermission, in response to their question “Are there any operatic heroines who are actually good role models for young women?” I voted for Laurie from Copeland’s “The Tender Land,” but I got distracted during the second act and never did find out if they read it on the air.

    Like

  6. Yeah, I heard the hosts discussing Pat McElroy’s passing during the day. 😦

    On brighter news, I always think it’s funny that I’ll be listening in the evening and I’ll hear things like, “It’s rainy and cool this morning in Portland. Coming up at …” And I always think how you’re just settling into your day.

    Like

  7. hehe, I had the same reaction when you mentioned listening to La Boheme in the evening. My first thought was “But the opera’s on in the morning…” 🙂 I’m such a dork.

    Like

  8. Dear DD,

    There is an easy way out of your confusion. Simply move your clock nine hours ahead. That way you will be abiding by the proper CET time. (also known as GST: Gypsyscarlett Standard Time).

    Then, not only will your time be correct…but EVEN BETTER…when you get to work you shall be the only person there! Think of all the work you can get down in such peace and quiet. Your boss will be utterly amazed at your productivity. Plus, you won’t have to put up with that colleague with horrid grammar. It’s a win-win situation.

    Like

    1. OK, I’m persuaded! It’ll be an easy transition, since I’m pretty sure all of Poland is on Gypsy Standard Time; it’ll come back to me as a sort of genetic memory.

      I set all my clocks 5-7 minutes ahead b/c it’s just enough to get me out of the house on time without confusing anyone except my poor punctual Teutonic husband, who says he’s always worried about what’s happening in those six twilight minutes of which I have deprived him.

      Like

      1. Poor Fang, tell him all those minutes go into a savings account that he gets to cash in at the end of the world, thereby cheating death and getting a “do-over” on life!

        Like

      1. OOh, he’ll like that as well. Imagine the lifetimes you’ll have left if you set your clock ahead to Gypsy Standard Time right away!

        Like

  9. I just wanted to thank you both for providing me with some great laughs as I continue to read these comments.

    btw, I’m looking forward to the Oscars on Sunday. I’ll have my picks sent to you soon, Mary.

    Like

  10. The thing you have to understand about Didge and Rosie and me is that we began our association as giggly little girls passing notes back & forth, around the sixth grade or so (sharpening our verbal skills,even then.) We were all good multi-taskers, even at that young age, so altho we were constantly slipping little folded bits of paper back & forth under our desks, we still managed to score pretty good grades, and we never got busted! With the advent of digital communication, we’ve returned to our old habits, which is what you often see here and over at MJB. Hell, it’s a harmless vice…

    Like

  11. If I didn’t know better I’d swear Tasha had been right there with us, not that I’d wish our junior high school on anyone!

    Like

  12. more like purgatory, really, b/c at least we weren’t doomed to remain there for eternity. when I go out for coffee in the late afternoon and see those sweet geeky jr-high aged kids exiting the school, pushing their glasses back up their noses, hunched under the burdens of their giant backpacks, minding their own business and trying to avoid the madding crowd, I pray for their little souls to get outta there as soon as humanly possible. I’ve often thought that if I ever commit some unforgiveable sin in this life, my punishment will either be to re-live the 7th grade over and over again, or else I’ll be doomed to walk the earth forever, wearing ill-fitting highheeled shoes.

    But you know, I did make friends there in the nether world, with whom I’ve stayed in touch over all these decades, so I guess it was meant to be.

    Like

    1. I like to believe that both are true. I’m only going to hell if you guys’ll come with.

      BTW, when you have time to read a novel, pick up “Hell” by Robert Butler Olin(I already got Rosie to read it.) It really is about who gets accepted and rejected into Hell, and besides being brilliantly written and laff-out-loud funny, there’s a weird sweetness to it that you have to see in order to believe.

      *OOps, I meant pick it up at the library, so you can justify those new Tarot decks 😉

      Like

  13. DD said,” I think you would have fit right in with us, Tasha No doubt you would have been part of our coterie at the lunch table.”

    maryjblog said 3 hours ago:
    If I didn’t know better I’d swear Tasha had been right there with us, not that I’d wish our junior high school on anyone!”

    Awww…seriously, I thank you both for that. Really made me smile. Perhaps I was there with you in spirit. 🙂

    Like

  14. p.s. DD, in an email the other day, I remembered to write “different from” instead of “different than”. See, your grammar-influence reaches across oceans! 😉

    Like

  15. See, Mrs. Stumpf was there in spirit. Now THAT lady has surely achieved a state of grace, wacky cat-framed glasses, blue-bubble-bouffant hair and all! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.