All Hallows Tarot


The collection continues to grow, although at this point I really need to call a moratorium on acquisitions for a while. I’ve been going a little bonkers adding to the collection, but it’s hard to restrain myself when there are so many fabulous decks coming out, and so many lovely art decks in limited editions. This one is not a limited edition (that I know of) although the print run was probably not huge either. This is a goth-alicious little deck I got about a week ago, called the All Hallows Tarot, from artist Robyn Tisch-Hollister:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The cards are smaller than most other Tarot decks at 3 5/8″x 2 5/8″, but oh so cute! I wish I could show more of the cards, but only got the four scanned in at work yesterday. There are more pictured online at The Tarot Garden where I bought mine (check both the limited edition “More Samples” and the 78-card edition “More Samples” as they’re not all the same cards pictured). And like the Touchstone Tarot I got last year, this one also includes a “Happy Squirrel” card. Bit of silliness. Interestingly, I don’t see any vampires in the deck, it seems more focused on pagan traditions of the day, and more secular traditions like trick-or-treating, costumes, and general gothy-ness.

They arrived in this lovely little bag, inside the tin container which also held the little green ghost pencil eraser and two plastic bat rings, the kind of stuff you probably got as a kid in some gift bags at Halloween parties. I love this new trend of using tins for storing the decks, instead of the cardboard tuck boxes that most come in. I’ve trashed more than one of those little boxes, they really don’t hold up very well in most cases (although schlepping decks around the world with me while in the Navy did a couple of them no favors).

Let me know if you guys like these slideshows or prefer the static photos. I kind of like the slideshows, although they doesn’t seem to allow you to bring up an image in another larger window to see the details.

19 thoughts on “All Hallows Tarot

  1. DD,

    I really like the slide show, too.

    With all your decks and knowledge, have you ever thought of writing a book on tarot collecting? They have books for stamp collectors, card collectors, etc.

    Like

      1. Nah. Kaplan was kind of there before me with all the Encyclopedias of the Tarot. I don’t know if they’re working on a Vol. 5, I sure hope so. Really, there are a lot of people who know far more than I do anyway. I know you guys think I’m completely bonkers with this, but my collection is pretty measly compared to some. I know of collectors whose collections number in the thousands. My collection currently stands at 66. 🙂

        Like

  2. I like the slideshow too. Your collection is definitely increasing. I’m wanting to get my hands on Brian and Wendy Froud’s “The Heart of Faerie Oracle” deck.

    Like

    1. I’ve seen a few of the cards over on Aeclectic. According to someone there, some of the cards are reworkings of cards from the first Faeries Oracle, but she did concede it is mostly new art. I have to admit that one’s not real high on my list right now. There’s an artist in Maine who has created a number of limited edition art decks that’s got most of my attention at the moment. I just pre-ordered her newest one, after exchanging a couple e-mails with her.

      Tarot of the Red Jester

      although she has several others I’m dying for as well 🙂 Quelle surprise.

      Witch Tarot is really calling my name, but that’s more money than I usually allow myself on my little addiction.

      Like

  3. The slide show’s fine, but it’s the artwork I love – this deck is hands down my favorite of all the ones you’ve posted. Next time I need a reading, I’m going to ask you to use these, unless you’ve already framed them and hung them up on the wall…

    Like

  4. Aren’t they just too adorable? I can hardly stop looking at them. It was really hard deciding which cards to post, they’re all so gothtastic 🙂 This deck has so much personality and presence. Let me know when you’re in the mood for a reading.

    Like

  5. What I like is there’s a sweetness I don’t usually associate with Goth artwork – that little squirrel just kills me!

    I’m always in the mood for a reading (it fascinates my friends out here that you can do them over the miles like that.) – let me frame some sort of a valid question and I’ll email you with it.

    Like

  6. Oh yeah, the Happy Squirrel card is likely to show up in more decks. It comes from an episode of “The Simpsons” where Homer apparently got a reading, and the Happy Squirrel card appeared in the reading as some horrible, dire omen 🙂 The Shadowscapes Tarot is going to include one in the Special Edition release of that deck. It’s become a running joke in the Tarot community. I love it, I think it’s a scream.

    Like

  7. Sorry I’m late to the party, but I like the slide show, too. And I concur with MJB that there is a softness/sweetness to the images that I find very inviting. Goth doesn’t have to be hard…

    Like

  8. Hi Rosie! 🙂

    You’re always welcome whenever you have time to drop by.

    The few goths I’ve known have been total sweethearts. They look all hard and bad, but generally have a great capacity to laugh at themselves and the whole image. I don’t hang out in goth clubs and am not really plugged into the whole goth scene but a sense of humor seems to be a requisite element.

    Like

  9. I saw those on another forum, I think the guy who created them has the images up on Flickr. Pretty good, and he’s clearly a “Lost” fanatic. I couldn’t read with the deck, although I’m not sure they’ve actually been published or intended for use. Shouldn’t be any copyright violations, he’s not using any actual images from the show. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.