Power to the Writer!


I dropped in to the Web site of one of my favorite writers, who is one of my great inspirations, Ursula K. Le Guin and saw that she will be making an appearance at the Ooligan Press Oolicon: Write to Publish Conference 2010 at Portland State University. Squeee! At the age of 80 she’s doing a surprising number of appearances these days.

The conference is going to be held May 22nd and 23rd. The first day is Workshop Day, with workshops on polishing your manuscript, how to find an agent, the Young Adult market, and several other topics. I wonder if I could combine the Schedule A morning sessions, with the Schedule B afternoon sessions…?

Mrs. Le Guin will be speaking on the second day, Open House Day, on the Author Stage at 11:00. Chuck Pahlaniuk will also be speaking later that day, as will Lilith Saintcrow, and others.

Day Two also has the Industry Mingle, which at this point seems to consist mostly of professional editing companies, but will hopefully attract more publishers before all is said and done. If you buy a full day ticket to Workshop Day you get a free ticket for Open House day.

You may remember Ooligan Press brought us the book “Rethinking Paper and Ink: The Sustainable Publishing Revolution” that I mentioned back in January. I guess I know what I’ll be doing that weekend.

18 thoughts on “Power to the Writer!

  1. I think so, too. 🙂 I’ve never been to a writers’ conference before, but they always sound so incredible. This one is not only close, it’s affordable!

    Like

  2. Heh, sneaky. I can respect that. 😉 Maybe I can just tote it along in case someone just wants a taste of my writing style. I’m not even sure there’s going to be any of that going on, though. I see a bunch of professional editing services listed, but no actual agents or publication editors slated to attend.

    Update: Instead of pulling those pages off the site, I’ve password-protected them. Not that it matters much, I wasn’t getting any page reads lately anyway.

    Like

  3. Sounds like a good one to go to. DD. Ursula was a guest at Wiscon not too long ago. Watching her walk through the hallways of the hotel was like watching a queen moving among her adoring subjects. 🙂 I’d like to be that active when I’m 80. Gives one hopes that no matter how old you get you can still be a part of the writing life.

    Like

  4. Hi Jenna,

    She really does seem to have attained that sort of stature, doesn’t she? : ) Is there anything you recommend bringing to a conference like this apart from notebook and pen? Since I’ve never been to one I have no idea what to expect.

    Like

Comments are closed.