BoGo Rev. 2


Oh my GAWD, the new Bohemian Gothic Tarot, second edition is now open for pre-orders, and I have duly put in my order!

If you order through Baba Store, you will receive this special silver/pewter gilded-edged deck as their thank you for ordering directly from them. It sounded like they printed a fair number of them, Karen didn’t seem concerned that they would run out of them before anyone who wants one has a chance to get one. They are limiting orders to four copies per order right now.

SQUEEEEEEEE!!!! They don’t ship until August, but this time I’m not missing it. I love this deck, it’s so beautiful. And I love how the images go right to the edge, no huge borders. The image fills the card, except for the small border with the card title at the bottom. All the cards can be viewed at the Bohemian Gothic Web site, but as of this writing the pre-order button is still not turned on. Follow the first link above to go directly to the Baba Store to order if you’re interested. I had to get two, I’m terrified that something dreadful will happen to one of them. There will also be limited edition bags for the cards later, which you can add to the pre-order later with no extra shipping charges. From what I can gather, those will be an extra charge, they are not included with the cards, but will have a ‘limited edition’ tag. If you’ve seen Karen and Alex’s work, you know how beautiful they will be.

There’s also one ‘extra’ card, which you can see at the Web site. I think I’ll frame them, have one at home and bring one to work. :::sigh::: Anticipation…

44 thoughts on “BoGo Rev. 2

  1. Haha ๐Ÿ™‚ The extra card they’re giving with the deck is almost better. Pop over to the Web site for a sec and have a look. It’s the one that says “Memento Mori” at the bottom.

    Like

  2. Is the “Strength” card the extra one? It’s awesome, but the rest of the deck got me thinking about Gypsy’s post re: art that inspires a story. Who’s going to write the story about that sleechy-looking dude trying to hit on the 2 of Cups? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. No, there is a Strength card in every Tarot deck, although sometimes with a different title (Lust). The extra one is the one that looks like a large skull from a distance, but it’s one of those optical illusions: A Gibson-girl looking woman in front of a round dressing mirror, with her head and hairdo both on her and her reflection making the eyes of the skull. It says “Memento Mori” across the bottom (“Remember, you are mortal”). You can see it here: Memento Mori, bottom right.

    I’d like to get a tattoo of the Strength card, the vampire woman leaning on the lion. It should only cost a small fortune ๐Ÿ˜‰ The guy in the first edition 2 of Cups was not nearly as skeezy looking as this dude. I told Karen he reminded me of a guy I went out with once. And I do mean one time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Gotta love a culture that senses strenght = lust.

      The Five of Swords guy is shady, too, even if he is a wolf.

      Like

      1. The card is about keeping the animal inside each of us under control. IIRC, the first deck to title the card “Lust” was Aleister Crowley’s Book of Thoth. If you know anything about Crowley, this will not surprise you. He cultivated a reputation as “the wickedest man in the world” back in the early part of the 20th century. Dude was pretty ‘out there.’

        Most of the people depicted in the BoGo are ‘off’ in one way or another. Many of them are now more overt vampires (see Queen of Swords). Unfortunately not all the cards are online right now, the pages for some of the court cards aren’t working. The original Queen of Wands looked like a maniacal cross-dresser. She’s toned down in the new one, but still supposed to be quite mad.

        Like

      1. Isn’t that cool? It’s not the same style as the rest of the deck, but the theme of it works well. I don’t think I’d use it in a reading, Karen suggested it would be a good bookmark or something.

        Like

  4. I like the Bride of Frankenstein-influenced Nine of Pentacles, and those two creepy little children from the Cups suit. Only thing is, from that deck I would expect a sort of gloomy reading, no matter how well life was going. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  5. Hehehe! When they were still working on the deck, Karen posted a version of that 6 of cups card, with a really different photo in the headstone (I’m laughing as I type this, it was hysterical) of some tough-looking old broad with a cigar in her mouth! ๐Ÿ˜€ Alex (her husband and partner) was having a bit of fun while they worked on it, and she thought we’d all get a kick out of it.

    I think the kind of reading you get depends more on your state of mind, and the reader’s abilities. The deck can make a difference, but really I can read with any deck.

    Like

  6. DD,

    Thanks so much for the heads up that the deck is being re-issued! *squee*.

    I love the Empress card. And that’s the coolest Fool card I’ve seen.

    One could get a lot of creative ideas from these cards.

    Like

  7. Heya Tasha! It’s a stunner, isn’t it? I can’t believe how excited I am about this. I’m considering this my birthday present to myself, since the cards will ship in August ๐Ÿ˜€ It was so fun watching the progress of it, as Karen would post old/new cards for comparison on their Facebook page. Everyone had input, which really made it fun. They revamped the Lovers card after a bunch of us kind of whined about the girl looking too modern and too much like a certain fictional character in a certain vampire series ๐Ÿ˜‰ She still kinda looks like her, but now she’s dressed more in keeping with the rest of the deck.

    After this one, they’ll be concentrating on their Alice in Wonderland deck, which is well underway. I’m not sure when that one’s supposed to be out, I think early fall, or possibly even later this summer.

    Like

      1. I can’t imagine you will ever regret it. Especially at the price they’re asking now. When they go out of print I suspect this one will be as highly sought after on the secondary market as the original was, and it’s going for some scary prices now, if you can find it at all. I’m still kicking myself for not pouncing on the first edition when it came out.

        Like

  8. Oooh, I don’t even collect these things and I’m sort of excited about an Alice deck. Please be sure to post the link when it comes out.

    Like

  9. Hehe, it’s infectious, isn’t it? And Karen and Alex at Baba Studio do such a beautiful job with everything they do, we know ahead of time it’s going to be something really sumptuous. I don’t see any of the cards online yet, but they have other Alice-related items for sale (laptop bags, cell phone cases, etc.) here: All Things Alice.

    Oops, my bad. I just checked the FB page, and Karen is now saying the Alice Tarot will likely not be out until early next year. Bummer.

    Like

  10. I checked out their site, and I’m in love with the Bohemian Cats. If I were ever to become a Tarot reader (unlikely, not b/c I don’t find it interesting, but b/c I have absolutely no sensitivity to the alternate dimensions; I’m either dense as a block of wood, or constitutionally destined to live in exactly the place and time into which I was born) that’s the deck I would use.

    Like

      1. Har har har! Evidently not. I wake up this morning, sign on, and once again think, “Hey, DD looks different.” ๐Ÿ™‚

        I really like it, but can’t quite place it. Is it from a painting or is it a portrait of a real lady?

        Of course, though, a part of me shall always think of you as Morticia. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      2. hee hee! It would’ve been truly hilarious if we’d unknowingly changed into her at the same time. I can imagine us both being very confused for a moment afterwards. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        I really like the one you ended up picking for yourself, however.

        I was torn between a few of them, most especially, the five of swords. But the delighted (or devilish?) smile on seven of cups won. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      3. And it wouldn’t have surprised me much if we had! I think the 7 of Cups was the first card I went absolutely gaga over the first time I saw this deck. She may yet inspire at least a character, if not an entire story.

        Like

      4. I like 7 of Cups b/c you can’t tell if she’s thinking up some mischief, or responding to it. If they’d stayed with that old lady chomping the stogie, I think I would’ve gone with that…

        Like

  11. yah, I’ve never seen a silk laptop bag before. Anybody else would charge a lot more for something like that.

    Like

    1. Mary J,

      Speaking of bags… I want one of their purses. I’m not a cat person, but that Bohemian Cat Reader shoulder bag totally rocks.

      If I had to settle on one though, it would either be The World or Strength from the Gothic Tarot.

      Like

  12. DD,

    Indeed! I’ve been having a bit of trouble with my main female protagonists, and this morning, two of the cards made me go, “that’s them!”. I’ve been staring at those particular cards and things keep coming to me in regards to those characters.

    I’m sure other cards will inspire characters and plot points, too.

    Like

  13. That’s exciting! I love it when that happens, it feels like you tapped into a vein of ideas, you almost can’t write them down fast enough.

    Now if only it would happen more often! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    1. Indeed! I feel giddy now. And know I must enjoy this feeling while it lasts. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I can NOT wait for the cards to be released.

      DD, you’ve created a monster. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. MUhahahahah! Welcome to the dark side! ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

        I’ve actually relaxed a little since I pre-ordered mine, at least I know I will get them this time. When the first edition was released, I was pinching pennies ’til they screamed and decided I couldn’t justify spending money on them. Oh, if I had only known…I did finally get a copy of the first edition on the secondary market, but it was a lot more than it would have cost had I gotten it when it was first released. Lesson learned.

        Like

  14. Oh dear.
    Oh dear oh dear.
    Silver edges ::bites thumb::

    I’m… mewling a little, embarrassingly enough. Luckily for my bank account, the Boho Gothic has always left me cold. I KNOW! Shocking, but there it is. So I’m safe ::phew:: Still, silver edges are preeeeeetty.

    Like

Comments are closed.