Film Noir on The Score


I know several of you like film noir so I wanted to let you know this Saturday, July 24 on The Score, Edmund is delving into this dark-tastic genre. I don’t think they’ll mind if I copy the little blurb from the Web site and post it here:

Dead Men
Don’t Play Bach

Rain-soaked sidewalks that reflect the neon anguish of a man on the run. Sultry dames whose wide eyes are just a mask for quiet deception. An unforgiving city that turns its asphalt back on sentiment but still respects a code of honor. This week on The Score, host Edmund Stone samples music from Film Noir classics The Maltese Falcon and Vertigo, plus more modern examples of the genre such as Mulholland Drive.

Turn up the collar of your trench coat and join Edmund under a lonely lampost on Saturday, July 24, at 2 p.m.

If you can’t tune in Saturday, you can catch it the following week on Sunday at 2:00PM, or listen to the archived program online. And big excitement, the program is being picked up by a station in Australia some time this fall! No details yet, but it’s great that it’s going international!

6 thoughts on “Film Noir on The Score

  1. Oh…*squee* !

    My fave noir is Double Indemnity. I’ve lost count how many times I’ve seen that.

    Have you ever seen Nightmare Alley? I recently saw that for the first time. It’s set in a carnival, which I loved.

    Like

  2. Hehe, I thought you’d be interested in this 🙂

    I’m not sure if I’ve seen Nightmare Alley. I used to watch all those old b&w movies on tv on when I was a kid, and I can’t recall most of them now. I need to rent some and re-watch, it’s been too long. Since I don’t have tv cable I don’t get stations like Turner Classic Movies, or A&E or AMC. God, I miss those. I can live without most other stations, but I admit I miss those three.

    Like

  3. I’m not sure how long it is after the program initially airs that they make it available online, but if you check in a week or so you can probably listen to the archived version. If you go to All Classical at the top where it says “Listen Now” it will open another window. Choose “On Demand” and there will be a list of previously aired programs you can listen to. Once it’s up there it’ll be available for two weeks. Yeah, 2:ooPM PDT is not a good time for you 😉

    Like

  4. I listen to The Score “On Demand”. Each episode airs for a week or so.

    Speaking of time, yesterday I woke at 2 am and decided to crawl out of bed to write. I put on the station and they were talking about the current weather condition at that “late afternoon” hour. That gave me a little laugh. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.