600 Years of the Clocktower in Prague


Anything Prague is on my radar these days, as most of you know, but you ALL need to see this mind-blowing artform. Click the text or the photo to go to Tor.com’s site with the video. It’s about nine minutes long and there is sound.

Clocktower

It’s called video mapping. Macula’s site is unfortunately all in Czech, but here’s the Google translation of their “About” page:

The macula is a project dealing with the relationship between image, sound
and audience. Trying to find new approaches to longer Business as usual
and exploring further possibilities. The goal is to find the maximum symbiosis
and satisfy the audiovisual nihilism. Video mapping is a completely new
style based on the visual arts sector VJing. This is a overlap beyond the 2D projection screen has been insufficient
and the subsequent efforts of the new concept led to the discovery of the projections
free space on any of the objects.

Video mapping using current technology available in the entertainment
industry, a whole new way. The main contents are the projections
to cooperate with the selected object and try to break the perception
perspective of the viewer. With the projector can fold and stress
any shape, line or space. Evocative play of light on the physical
object creates a new dimension and changing the view of the seemingly “normal thing”.
Everything becomes an illusion.

Now, go, watch, and when you can pick your jaw up off the floor, report back! 🙂

11 thoughts on “600 Years of the Clocktower in Prague

  1. This was so worth watching. It did not even feel like 9 minutes are more. My hat goes off to the animator. I have to tell my FB friends to come check out your page and click on the photo to be directed to the video. I know they will love it as much as I do. Animations rocks! Especially good animations like this:)
    Gypsyscarlett I just checked out the link above. Too cool, okay I need to place this on my list of must visit city. Prague seem so medieval to me and I dig medieval time!

    Like

    1. Thanks, startingover! I’m glad you enjoyed it. My mouth just fell open while I watched it, I think it’s the most amazing animation I have ever seen. The timing, the precise placement… blew my mind.

      Like

      1. Aren’t your eye teeth the ones way back behind your molars? I always thought “give my eye teeth” meant I’d be willing to undergo nasty dental surgery {for this thing I’d love to have so much}

        Like

  2. I just checked. Actually they’re what are also known as the canines, the pointy ‘fang-like’ ones in the front. That’s a heck of a thing for a wannabe vampire to give up! 😉

    Like

  3. This is so stunning! Thanks for sharing it. (I’m also hoping to visit Prague — maybe in a year from now). This was added inspiration. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi Kelly,

    Thanks for coming by. It just blew me away, the precision that went into the layout and timing was incredible. The more I learn about Prague the more I am consumed by wanting to visit. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.