Old Man Winter is early


Here’s what blew in last night – literally – in about an hour. The way the wind was howling and rattling the house you’d think I lived on the Nebraska prairie. The snow was blowing and swirling, but ultimately there’s not much of it. It is, however, only about 18 degrees, so it’s been frozen to the ground and my deck all night.

wintery morning
wintery morning

I kept trying to get the colors of the clouds through the trees, where the sun was rising, this was the best I was able to do:

sunrise through the trees

It won’t be here long, it’ll start warming up again tomorrow, back to the 40s and rain. This is so much nicer, since I don’t have to go to work today and drive on the icy roads. I should check the news, no doubt there are accidents all over.

Winter by Walter de la Mare
Clouded with snow
The cold winds blow,
And shrill on leafless bough
The robin with its burning breast
Alone sings now. 

The rayless sun,
Day’s journey done,
Sheds its last ebbing light
On fields in leagues of beauty spread
Unearthly white.

Thick draws the dark,
And spark by spark,
The frost-fires kindle, and soon
Over that sea of frozen foam
Floats the white moon.

14 thoughts on “Old Man Winter is early

  1. People around here never seem to be prepared for bad weather, it’s really quite ridiculous. There’s always some fool who tries to drive on the icy hills without traction tires or chains. I just try to stay off the road when it’s like this since they don’t sand/salt the roads here, and the sidestreets don’t even get plowed when it snows.

    Like

    1. Believe me I know about those drivers who are too cheap to stud their tires or place a chain over their tires (even though to me the chains are no good. Hubby and I use to see broken chains many times in the road). Heck I witness it and shake my head. Especially about the lazy drivers when winter is over they keep the chain on damaging the road.

      Are you telling me that they do not sand the roads anymore? Not like it was a major help but atleast it did help a little.

      Like

  2. Oregon, as long as I have lived here, has never salted the roads. The major freeways and overpasses will get de-icer, but most areas will only put pea gravel down on the roads to try to improve traction. Of course that stuff quickly gets spun off the road onto the shoulders with every passing car, and if more snow falls on top of it, it’s covered and useless. But they pride themselves on being very “green” here, as I’m sure you know. There was footage this morning on the news of a city bus in Seattle losing traction and sliding sideways down a hill. The video is already up on YouTube:

    The first vehicle, the SUV, seems to have chains on and still can’t get traction. People feel invincible in 4WD. They don’t seem to realize that they have 4WD, they don’t have 4W-stop. I noticed some of the commenters saying the person who took the video should have called emergency workers. They don’t realize in Seattle (and Portland) the city isn’t going to come out and clear sidestreets like that. It’s major freeways only that get taken care of.

    Like

    1. People in the Catskills drive like psychos in wintry weather. They all drive big SUVs, and have no regard for speed limits, even on steep, winding mountain roads that are treacherous at high noon on a sunny day in June. For the most part, they are nice, down-to-earth types, but put ’em behind the the wheel and they combine the worst aggressiveness of the New York driver with the road-hogging “my other car is an ATV” qualities of the rural hammerhead.

      Like

  3. What an awful video. Just watching it was a shivering. Every time I see something like this my heart goes in panic mode. Days like that they should of had an official day that everyone must stay in the house. I so agree with you about the 4WD, lol, yeah people forget sometimes they are not invisible even with ABS. I had that a few years ago and still was sliding.
    I have never heard of Oregon using salt. As you mention they pride themselves on how green and beautiful the place is as they should. That is one thing I love about Oregon. When I was living there I only knew of them sanding the road with sand and your right eventually it goes to the side of the road.
    I so can’t wait for spring!

    Like

  4. Still frosty and cool this morning, but we’re into the 30s now, feels like a heat wave after the last couple of days! Hehe. Personally, I think it’s perfect weather for Thanksgiving, just as it should be, but being from New England it’s what’s buried deep in my subconscious for proper weather this time of year.

    When I was in the Navy and spent holidays in Puerto Rico while I was stationed there, it just always felt so WRONG. Going swimming at the beach on Christmas was just surreal to me!

    Like

  5. Haha, it can be 🙂 I guess I’m too much a creature of habit, I like having four distinct seasons. When the year is divided into “hot” and “hotter” I can’t quite get my festive holiday spirit on.

    Like

Comments are closed.