RIP Ingrid Pitt, aka Countess Dracula


Countess Dracula has gone to the other side.

From BBC News:

Hammer horror actress Ingrid Pitt, best known for starring in cult classics such as Countess Dracula, has died at the age of 73.

She was regarded by many fans as the queen of Hammer Horror films.

‘Gloriously uninhibited’

Official Hammer historian Marcus Hearn paid tribute to the star, calling her a “talented actress and fine writer”.

“All fans of Hammer and of British horror are going to miss her terribly” he said.

Ms. Pitt wrote a fine intro to the book I have, “Mammoth Book of Vampire Stories”,  in which she recounted stories from the sets of some of the movies she filmed. In one incident she talks about her fangs popping out and falling down her bosom. It sounded like they had a pretty good sense of humor about the whole idea of horror films, and regularly dissolved into laughter.

Goodnight, dear lady, we shall not fear to join you in due time.

9 thoughts on “RIP Ingrid Pitt, aka Countess Dracula

    1. OMG, that is hysterical 🙂 What a find! I admire the blogger’s tenacity for actual reading all those books. God, I knew they were bad, but Jesus H. Christ, how did that crap get past an editor??

      Like

      1. I would say you need to read them, but your really don’t. I’ve read the 2nd one (I was sick, the family went to xmas dinner, I had a few hours to kill. That’s my excuse :D) and it filled me with a very special kind of raging disbelief. Besides the horrifying travesty of “writing”, there’re the deeply disturbing themes and behaviours. Those books examplify all the worst kinds of WRONG.

        On second thought, you *need* to read them.

        Like

  1. Reading them might make *me* sick. I am more baffled than ever at the popularity of these books, and most especially by adult women swooning over them. It defies comprehension. Are there that many disturbed people out there, for whom these books fill a need, a void in their sad, pathetic lives? How bad can their real lives be that this particular fiction is attractive to them? Sounds to me like too many women with unresolved Cinderella complexes.

    Like

  2. RIP Ingrid!

    I read her obituary this morning. I hadn’t been aware that she’d survived a concentration camp.

    Love the story about her teeth falling into her cleavage. Too funny.

    Never read any of the Twilight books. Those excerpts were… well, goodness…are there words?

    Like

  3. Sure, there are words. “Horrible” comes to mind, “idiotic,” “childish,”… 😉 I am still astonished, however, that they got past an editor like that. Whoever her editor was should hang his/her head in shame.

    Like

Comments are closed.