Happy Thanksgiving!


 

Site of the first Thanksgiving

Click the photo above to go to NASA’s site to read more about the geography and the early European settlers there.

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone, whether you are in the U.S., Canada, or elsewhere (I know it’s not Canada’s Thanksgiving Day, but since I missed it, please accept my belated good wishes). Consider it a general harvest festival observance. If you’re traveling, be safe, and if you’re entertaining take some time to enjoy the day.

12 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you, DD and to all who visit this cosmic salon & lounge! Here’s to a celebration of all things homey and delicious…. it is our first Thanksgiving without our Original Gangster Matriarch, my MIL. Some of you might remember last year when she forgot it was Thanksgiving. But we celebrate her spirit daily: mostly since she left us a years’ supply of high-end hair care products from QVC and some of the best heirloom kitchen tools. We will be discussing her tombstone inscription with the family today: I’m voting for “What Can I Make You?” (My FIL’s is “A Man of Infinite Jest”) Although she was his constant straight man, her lasting legacy was her fine cooking and open kitchen. Thank you all for listening and letting me honor her memory here.

    Like

    1. What a lovely tribute, Rosie! I’m sure she will be with you all in spirit, as well. She’s probably up in the great Celestial Kitchen, showing them how it’s done 😉 Maybe if you go with the slogan “What Can I Make You?” you can add a crossed salad fork and spoon, so she always has some tools at the ready.

      Wishing you and your family a wonderful day of good food, good memories and good company.

      Like

    2. It’s important to give thanks for those who touched our lives but can’t make it to the dinner table this year. What better tribute could you give Gangsta Mommy than to host a big happy dinner for her loved ones?

      Like

  2. Once again, I’m a day late and a dollar short. Hehe. Oh well. Happy belated Thanksgiving! Thank you so much for posting the picture; it really brought the whole story home to this Kansas native. I’m in love with the background on this page, by the way. The fall leaves are gorgeous!

    Like

  3. Hi Jessica,

    Belated good wishes gladly accepted 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Glad you like the leaves. This is such a gorgeous time of year I never want it to end!

    Like

  4. Thanks! You know how I love to redecorate here 😉 This is actually a photo one of my cousins in Norway sent me of the holly in his yard. It may be a tad early for such a wintry scene, but since we’ve already had snow here…

    Like

Comments are closed.