NaNoWriMo – Day 3


So here we are, well underway with NaNoWriMo 2011. I’m ahead on word count and pathologically hell-bent on staying that way. We know one day at least is a complete loss (Thanksgiving Day), so I have to make up one full day (1667 words) squeezed in elsewhere. I got off to a screaming start, clocking in 2750 words the first day, but I can’t imagine I’ll be able to duplicate that word count too often.

The story itself is of course taking on a life of its own. I had intended to use this month and this NaNo to work up the backstory of a new character in the vampire novel. Well, it’s turning out to be pretty interesting. I wasn’t really expecting to get much out of it but this may claim a book all its own eventually. I’ve already decided to make this darker than the core story, so accordingly I am in search of new music to fit the mood. I just got turned onto a Goth/alternative band out of Johannesburg, South Africa, The Awakening (thanks to Submerina). YUM. This ought to help set the mood.

Excuse me while I go put on more black eyeliner and my boots.

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Day 3

  1. maryjblog says:

    Rock on, you writers! I’m a little too bogged down this year to even pretend to commit to NaNo, but I’m experiencing your thrill, vicariously.

    Like

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Well, you can do your own personal WriMo anytime you like, and we’ll cheer you on, if we don’t join in (I have a hard time resisting, in case you hadn’t noticed). Ok, gotta try to get some more words tonight. 😀

    Like

  3. Digital Dame says:

    Thank you so much, Susannah 🙂 Honestly I think you are too kind to me. Probably after this month I’ll have more time to get back to blogging a little more regularly, as well as visiting my friend’s blogs! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

