Posted in books, science fiction, science fiction, writing

Another Birthday Boy – Jules Verne


Born in Brittany (a Celtic region in France) on February 8, 1828. I have to say, I like his eyes. He looks like he was a pleasant, merry sort of person. And if you haven’t seen it yet, pop over to Google and play with the doodle they have in his honor. Warning: May induce sea sickness! It didn’t go live in the US until several hours after it was live in France.


The father of science fiction, he foresaw manned space flight, moon landings, submarines. His most famous works are of course Twenty-thousand Leagues Under the Sea, Around the World in Eighty Days, and A Journey to the Center of the Earth. Although he is well thought of in France as a writer of quality literature, the English translations have sometimes been less than stellar, leading to a diminished opinion of him in the English-speaking world. Hopefully those days are behind us (him). I wish I could read him in his native French, zut alors!

Author:

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.

14 thoughts on “Another Birthday Boy – Jules Verne

  1. This is why I love having been born in the stark, chilly month of February – it’s the birth month of some pretty remarkable authors. James Joyce entered the world on 2/2/1882. I just learned that his mother had the same first name as mine.

    Like

  2. Oh that’s awesome! I really have to compile my own list of authors’ birthdays so they don’t sneak up on me. I had to wait until today to snag the picture of the Google doodle for Verne. I’m sure it went live late last night, but I was busy sawing logs at the time 😉

    Like

    1. well, The Firm wasn’t bad… It’s just that Grish sort of started repeating himself, once he realized how much $$ he could make by cranking out formula that would be made into films with Julia Roberts and the like. It’s not literature, but I can’t really dog the guy when I just re-cycled a grammar quiz from last semester – and for a much smaller remuneration!

      Like

  3. hehehe 🙂 I have to admit I have not read his books, the subject matter just never appealed to me. Who was the author we talked about awhile back who kept a stable of writers to crank out books under his name? It wasn’t Grisham, was it?

    Like

  4. i love visiting the filling spaces salon for this very reason! Thank you DD for bringing us back into cultural balance with these wonderful posts.

    the more i read the more i discover all that i want to read.

    Like

Comments are closed.