Posted in fantasy, horror, music, NaNoWriMo, Punk/Alternative/Indie, writing

NaNoWriMo – Day 3


So here we are, well underway with NaNoWriMo 2011. I’m ahead on word count and pathologically hell-bent on staying that way. We know one day at least is a complete loss (Thanksgiving Day), so I have to make up one full day (1667 words) squeezed in elsewhere. I got off to a screaming start, clocking in 2750 words the first day, but I can’t imagine I’ll be able to duplicate that word count too often.

The story itself is of course taking on a life of its own. I had intended to use this month and this NaNo to work up the backstory of a new character in the vampire novel. Well, it’s turning out to be pretty interesting. I wasn’t really expecting to get much out of it but this may claim a book all its own eventually. I’ve already decided to make this darker than the core story, so accordingly I am in search of new music to fit the mood. I just got turned onto a Goth/alternative band out of Johannesburg, South Africa, The Awakening (thanks to Submerina). YUM. This ought to help set the mood.

Excuse me while I go put on more black eyeliner and my boots.

Author:

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.

11 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Day 3

  1. Thanks Rosie 🙂 I’ve been kind of hankering for some new tunes lately, this was just what I needed.

    Hope you’re having a better finish to the day than the start.

    Like

  2. Rock on, you writers! I’m a little too bogged down this year to even pretend to commit to NaNo, but I’m experiencing your thrill, vicariously.

    Like

  3. Well, you can do your own personal WriMo anytime you like, and we’ll cheer you on, if we don’t join in (I have a hard time resisting, in case you hadn’t noticed). Ok, gotta try to get some more words tonight. 😀

    Like

  4. I loved how you said you’ve been fooling around and not writing.

    Such a great photo. I know I’m a posting fool but I do wish you’d post more. You write so beautifully.

    Susannah

    Like

  5. Thank you so much, Susannah 🙂 Honestly I think you are too kind to me. Probably after this month I’ll have more time to get back to blogging a little more regularly, as well as visiting my friend’s blogs! 🙂

    Like

  6. Looking for the Dame…

    I’m anything but kind and only read regularly one other blog besides yours.

    There’s is nothing like a Dame, as they say.

    You write well, can’t say that to everybody.

    SB

    Like

  7. Ahaha, now I have that song in my head 😉 Maybe I should post an excerpt from my NaNo novel, not much time for anything else lately. I don’t normally neglect the blog this long.

    Like

Comments are closed.